Some of the best international GT and sports car drivers prepare for the 2016 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12-hour at Mount Panorama. 

This year’s international endurance race will be the 14th dawn-to-dusk enduro to be held at the world-famous Mount Panorama circuit. The event is set to be one of the most competitive yet with 11 different manufacturers and drivers from 15 countries, including eight former Bathurst 12-Hour winners.

2013 Bathurst 12 hour

Aussie V8 Supercar stars are set to take on the great event, some of which include Rick Kelly, Garth Tander, Shane van Gisbergen, Scott McLaughlin and Will Davison. Many international heroes will also compete, including GT champ Laurens Vanthoor, Le Mans winner Guy Smith and rising star Austin Cindric. Ex-Formula One drivers Mika Salo, Markus Winkelhock and Andrea Montermini will also take on the Aussies on their home turf.

Audi will have a significant presence having the most number of contenders for the outright victory and four latest-spec R8 LMS machines on-show. Mercedes-AMG will supply the official C 63 S Safety Car and have a private presence with an array of SLS GT3s.


Bathurst Regional Council Mayor, Cr Garry Rush welcomed everyone involved in the great race.

“We all recognise that Bathurst and Mount Panorama is the premier motor racing circuit in Australia and one of the premier motor racing circuits in the world,” said Rush.

“The drivers, particularly the international drivers, want to compete here for that reason. To have 11 different manufacturers and all the top-line GT3 Manufacturers makes for a spectacular event in regional New South Wales,” he continued.

Defending race winners Nissan headlined the event with the unveiling of its Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 along with its drivers, Rick Kelly, Katsumasa Chiyo and Florian Strauss. They will compete in an updated 2015-spec GT-R NISMO GT3 run by local arm Nissan Motorsport. Ferrari, Lamborghini, Bentley, McLaren, Porsche and MARC cars will also join Nissan on the grid.

The race will commence at 5:45am on Sunday with full broadcasting on the Seven Network.

About The Author